Home About Us News Privacy Policy Contact Us

County Age Group Boys

age group boys

Representative Cricket at all age levels is extremely important for the development of talented cricketers. It provides the opportunity for players to be challenged and have their skills tested to a greater extent than in normal competition. Many players (men and women) who progress along the pathway to first class and international standard have participated in representative cricket at various age levels.

Kent has age group squads for boys at under 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 17. They play in ECB competitions and/or festivals in Taunton.  The boys wear the same kit as the professional players – with “Performance Squad” under the Kent logo.

Each age group will have criteria for the managers and coaches to work towards:

Under 11 - play the game
Under 12 - learn the game
Under 13 - develop the game
Under 14 - understand the game
Under 15 - understand your game
Under 17 - prepare for performance

Trialists are nominated by our Area Cricket Programme (ACP) coaches and managers following assessment in coaching or games. At some levels recommendations are accepted from scouts. All trialists are invited to attend autumn trials and following that squads are selected for the summer programme.

Changes to the boys trial system (2017 onwards):

At under 11s, there will no longer be a trial period or winter squad for that age group.  They will participate in fixtures against other county teams but the teams will be selected based on performances within the ACP. It will be an open team policy to allow as many of our under 11s as possible to experience County fixtures.  The new look under 11 county development squad will be managed by coaches from the ACP.

At U14s, there will be a pre season tour which will allow the squad to be ‘match’ ready for the ECB competition.  Players not selected for the summer squad will be nominated for a county development squad which will attend the Taunton Festival, and will be managed by coaches from the ACP.


Policies and Documents

We explain what our standards and expectations are in two documents:
  • The Player's Charter
  • The Parent/Guardian's Charter

 To view the above charter documents and our policies, please click here - 'Our Rules and What We Expect'

Coach and Manager Information - Boys

Under 11 Development Coach Dave Smith smithydt@hotmail.com
Under 11 Development Coach / Manager TBC TBC
Under 12 Coach Damon Trigger damontrigger@hotmail.com
Under 12 Coach / Manager Paul Putland p.putland@btinternet.com
Under 13 Coach Dan Stickels dan.stickels.kent@ecb.co.uk  
 Under 13 Coach / Manager Richard Legg  richard.legg.kent@ecb.co.uk  
     
Under 14 Coach David Joseph david.joseph.kent@ecb.co.uk 
Under 14 Coach / Manager  Neil Cox neil_s_cox@hotmail.com
Under 14 Development Coach TBC TBC
Under 14 Development Coach / Manager TBC TBC
     
Under 15 Coach Mark Dekker mark.dekker.kent@ecb.co.uk 
Under 15 Coach / Manager Dan Patching dan.patching.kent@ecb.co.uk
     
Under 17 Coach Neil Taylor neil.taylor740@ntlworld.com
Under 17 Coach / Manager Jason Weaver jason.weaver.kent@ecb.co.uk 

 

Download Free Designs http://bigtheme.net/ Free Websites Templates